An ode to Los Cabos

With only two weeks left in my internship, I find myself reflecting back on my time here in San José del Cabo. Absolutely nothing but good memories: delicious food, wonderful people, improving my Spanish, falling in love with salsa dancing, and countless beach days. I want to take this opportunity to celebrate some of my favourite moments here.

img_1472

First and foremost, salsa dancing. I think it is worth noting how I got into salsa in the first place. I would like to thank Sara, a fellow intern and friend here, and José Juan, my supervisor at IMPLAN for inspiring me to start dancing. The moment happened, the first time we hung out outside of work. The two of them, as experienced dancers, started salsa dancing when the music started. I immediately fell in love with the music, the movements, and the thought of being able to dance with a partner in an unchoreographed, yet fluid manner. I made it my mission to find classes. To my advantage, there is an incredible salsa community in Los Cabos. I have been taking lessons 3 times a week for the past 5 months and have come a long way with my movements, fluidity, confidence, and freestyle ability! Alfredo, my salsa instructor (dead centre, bottom row, all in black), has been nothing but encouraging and supportive throughout my journey and I owe it to him how far I have come. Salsa has become far more than just a good workout and a hobby; it is a passion, an obsession, and an addiction!

fullsizeoutput_c19

I always look forward to my Sunday afternoons. In my first month here, I made friends with some of my neighbours by the poolside at our condos. They kindly invited me to play beach volleyball and I have been playing with them ever since. It is such a wonderful group of people who love to play the sport and spend time with one another. This has given me the opportunity to keep active, socialize, network, and spend an afternoon at the beach once a week. Volleyball just won’t be the same in Canada!

img_0920

Our work team participated in a turtle liberation back in October. This was an event organized by the municipality in conjunction with the 5th Urban Planning and Water conference hosted by IMPLAN Los Cabos and OOMSAPAS. We liberated 160 turtles into the ocean. It was such an incredible and emotional experience to watch these little guys make their way into the wild! It was well worth waking up at 4am to participate in!

img_0511

I wouldn’t necessarily consider this a highlight of my time here, but it was certainly an unforgettable experience. My internship unfortunately lined up with hurricane season here in Los Cabos. We had one very mild hurricane that dwindled down to a tropical storm followed by a more intense category 2 hurricane: Newton. Sara, Katelynn, and I did our best to stay calm and cool but Katelynn was the only person who seemed to be able to do that. Our apartment complex saw some relatively serious damages with almost all of the roof shingles blown off, shattered windows and doors, and some trees down. We were lucky and grateful that our apartment was not affected. This was my first hurricane experience and I certainly hope it will be my last!

fullsizeoutput_bac

The food. Oh the food! This is a plate of enchiladas from a restaurant near our office we frequent probably more often than we should (a dangerous mix of convenience, proximity, and cravings for food much better than I can cook myself!). My go-to is the panela enchiladas with mole sauce. Some other dishes I have fallen in love with in Los Cabos include ceviche, burritos, grilled fish tacos, gorditas, pozole, chilaquiles, tortilla soup, tamales, and for dessert… chocoflan! I can’t say that there have been any Mexican dishes I haven’t enjoyed!

fullsizeoutput_f32

I decided to save the best for last: Sara and Katelynn. These wonderful ladies are my roommates, fellow interns, support system, sources of wisdom and advice, workout partners, motivators, and most importantly, dear friends. We have had some incredible memories here in Los Cabos together, from sweating buckets at TRX, to salsa dancing, to weekend trips to Guadalajara and La Paz, and devouring slices of chocoflan. Sara and Katelynn are a huge part of the reason I have fallen in love with Los Cabos and enjoyed my time here so much. I am so fortunate to have met them and I never would have met these two beautiful, intelligent, and amazing individuals if it weren’t for this internship. So, thank you to SCIIP for bringing us together, I am eternally grateful!

Overall, I would like to thank all of the people I have met and the opportunities I have had here. I have grown significantly both professionally and personally and cannot recall the last time I have been so happy for such an extended period of time. This has truly been an amazing and life changing experience and I am so grateful for every second of it.

Los Cabos, Mexico

Stephanie McGlashan

Leave a Reply

