The Clock is Ticking

By: Katelynn Neufeld

With less than two months left here in Los Cabos, I’ve become increasingly aware of how little time that actually is. I knew when I started this internship that six months isn’t very long to begin with, but as the days, weeks, and months have gone on the reality has hit hard. The weather is finally cooling down enough that you can do things during the day without melting into a puddle like the Wicked Witch of the West from the Wizard of Oz, and in true Canadian form, we interns take every opportunity to mention just how fresco it has gotten.

Hurricane season is officially over and tourist season is starting up again too so there are a lot more things to do than during off season. In San José del Cabo, the Art Walk on Thursday nights and the Organic Market on Saturday mornings both only opened up two weeks ago, and it feels like the amount of visitors has risen tenfold in the past month. While it’s definitely awesome to see the area coming back to life, the feeling that I don’t have enough time seems ever present.

img_2076
As the time of year has changed, the sun has shifted so that it rises right out of the water.

This is true of both inside and outside the office. At work, the months of September and October were extremely busy with the planning of the 5to Foro Urbano (5th Urban Forum) that IMPLAN organized for October 13th and 14th. This event involved the entire office and the interns were given the responsibility of planning the information stand for IMPLAN. The Foro was a public event and included panels, debates, conferences, and workshops with presenters and speakers from across Mexico and even one from Colombia! As a result, our individual projects were put on hold for a few weeks during this time. In addition to the Foro, a couple other things have also come up to alter my work plan, so lately I’ve been feeling that my project is progressing slower than I would like it to, but I’m optimistic that I can complete all parts in the time I still have.

Outside of work, I’ve become very comfortable and familiar with the city that I’ve so enjoyed living in since July. The other interns and I have been fortunate to visit many nearby sights, including the Arco in Cabo San Lucas, the vibrant living coral reef in Cabo Pulmo National Park, and the incredible wildlife and natural beauty of Isla Espiritu Santo in La Paz a couple hours north. There is – of course – still so much more to do and see though. So much so that the group of us have a fairly strict Google Doc Bucket List to ensure that no moment is wasted.

With so much going on, I’m definitely feeling the pressure to finish everything that I’ve started here both at work with IMPLAN as well as outside of work with the activities I’ve been participating in, the Los Cabos interns’ Bucket List, and all of the amazing places I still want to visit. It’s a strange feeling to be stressed about having too many exciting things to do, but I’m up for the challenge and I know that even if I can’t do everything, I’ve already done so much!

img_1674-2
Team IMPLAN (including all five current SCIIP interns) after a crosswalk painting event in Cabo San Lucas in October
2 thoughts on “The Clock is Ticking

Leave a Reply

